skip directly to: content

District Overview

San Mateo County Community College District (SMCCCD)

Founded:   1922
Annual Enrollment: 45,000
Locations:  Redwood City, San Bruno, and San Mateo

District Logo    canada logo  

 csm logo


 skyline logo

District Office


Cañada College


College of San Mateo


Skyline College

3401 CSM Dr.
San Mateo, CA 94402


4200 Farm Hill Blvd.
Redwood City, CA 94061


1700 W. Hillsdale Blvd.
San Mateo, CA 94402


3300 College Dr.
San Bruno, CA 94066

Chancellor Ron Galatolo


Acting President Jennifer Hughes


President Michael Claire


President Regina Stanback Stroud

Board of Trustees 2012-2013

Karen Schwarz (President), Patricia Miljanich(Vice President-Clerk), Helen Hausman, Richard Holober, 
Dave Mandelkern, Bailey Girard (Student Trustee)

The District was established in 1922, and operates three Colleges:  the College of San Mateo, Cañada College, and Skyline College.  Located between San Francisco and Silicon Valley, the District Colleges provide community college educational services to residents of the County of San Mateo, California.  Combined, the three Colleges of the District serve approximately 45,000 students annually and offer the first two years of college-level instruction in a wide variety of transfer programs as well as more than 90 Career Technical Education (CTE) programs .  Students can earn either Associate in Arts or Science degrees or receive Certificates of Proficiency in their chosen fields.  The District also operates KCSM-FM, a jazz radio station, and KCSM-TV Channel 60, a public television station offering a variety of televised courses for credit each semester. Distance education courses are available at all three colleges as well as courses and programs serving concurrently enrolled students. Noncredit, short courses are offered for a fee through the Community Education Program

Each College is fully accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges, the recognized local accrediting agency for the western United States, affiliated with the Federation of Regional Accrediting Commissions of Higher Education.  The District is governed by a six-member Board of Trustees, with five voting members elected at large by County voters for four-year terms and one nonvoting student member elected by students for a one-year term.  The day-to-day operations are managed by the Board-appointed Chancellor. 

The District's primary service area is San Mateo County and its boundaries are coterminous with those of the County.  Rural coast side communities, suburbs and high-tech urban cities on the Peninsula exist within a half an hour drive from one another.  Recent demographic trends in the service area mimic those of the state:  the students are becoming more diverse in their ethnic backgrounds, age, education preparedness and life goals.  Current regional challenges impacting the Colleges include an increasing income gap, a predicted decline of high school graduates, and the absence of a major public university in the area.  The District 2008-2013 Strategic Plan includes an extensive environmental scan and many districtwide strategic initiatives. The District is finishing a districtwide capital improvement plan supported by nearly $675 million in construction Bonds and State funding.  Projects completed at all three campuses include new, LEED certified buildings, smart classrooms and labs, refurbished and modernized existing facilities and upgraded to campus infrastructure.